2023 Rugby World Cup: New Zealand Looking to Get Back on Top

New Zealand is the most successful rugby nation in the world. The All Blacks are the record world champions, and Sam Cane’s men are looking to win the 2023 Rugby World Cup in France.

Can New Zealand Bounce Back from Defeat?

The 2023 edition of rugby’s biggest tournament is underway. We have been treated to several thrills and spills already, and there is plenty more to come on French soil. The betting markets are live, and the race to be the world champion is wide open. Looking at the Rugby World Cup odds, the All Blacks are available at +350 to win the tournament outright. If you need help understanding the odds, check out this handy betting calculator.

New Zealand has already suffered a defeat in the 2023 World Cup. They went up against France in a mouth-watering opening game. The host nation was too hot to handle in Saint-Denis, running out 27-13 winners. Italy also picked up a win in game one, so the New Zealanders certainly have work to do in Pool A.

Nevertheless, despite the disappointing loss at the Stade de France, New Zealand is still a red-hot favorite to progress to the knockout phase. There are two knockout places available in every Pool, and New Zealand and France should progress.

All eyes will be on New Zealand’s last two Pool A games. They take on Italy at Parc Olympique Lyonnais in the penultimate match before heading back to Lyon for the final game against Uruguay in early October.

The Record World Cup Winner

No nation in professional rugby has won more World Cups than the All Blacks. The New Zealanders have a proud history in this competition, winning three of the nine editions.

Their first triumph came in the inaugural competition back in 1987. They went all the way in Australia and on home turf, beating France 29-9 in the Eden Park final.

By their high standards, the All Blacks had to wait too long for the next crown, lifting their second World Cup in 2011. Once again, the competition was held on home ground, and they beat France in a tense final at Eden Park.

In 2015, New Zealand won their first World Cup on foreign soil. The tournament was held in England, and the All Blacks retained the title. They were sensational in the 2015 final, hammering Australia 34-17 at Twickenham Stadium.

New Zealand was going for three in a row at the last World Cup in Japan in 2019. However, they fell at the penultimate hurdle. After winning Pool B, Steve Hansen’s side thumped Ireland in the quarter-finals. They lost 19-7 to England in the semi-final but eased past Wales in the third-place game to secure the bronze medal.

New Zealand is always the team to beat in World Cups. France has shown the world how to do it, but the All Blacks are eager to bounce back. Will we see the New Zealanders lift a fourth Webb Ellis Cup this year? 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top