Utah’s Medical Marijuana Cards Explained

On March 26, 2019, Utah Governor Gary Herbert signed House Bill 3001 into law, making Utah the latest state to legalize medical marijuana. The new law allows patients with qualifying conditions to purchase medical cannabis from licensed dispensaries in the state. The law is a precursor to the establishment of the medical marijuana card.

The medical marijuana card issued by the state allows the patients to purchase medical cannabis from licensed dispensaries. To get a Utah medical card, patients must first obtain a recommendation from a licensed physician. The card is valid for one year and can renew annually.

Besides, patients must have a qualifying condition to be eligible for a medical marijuana card. Qualifying conditions include the following:

  • Cancer
  • Epilepsy
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
  • Chronic Pain

Types of Medical Marijuana Cards in Utah

a) Patient Card

A patient card is the standard card issued to patients with a qualifying condition. The patients must be adults over 18 years old and be able to buy medicines on their own. They must also have a government-issued ID and a resident of Utah.

b) Caregiver Card

This card is for patients who cannot buy medical marijuana independently. It is for a person designated as the primary caregiver for a patient with a medical marijuana card. A caregiver can be a family member, friend, or other person designated by the patient to provide care. The primary caregiver must be at least 21 years old and cannot have a felony conviction. The primary caregiver can purchase medical cannabis on behalf of the patient.

c) Guardian Card

The guardian card is for the parent or legal guardian of a minor patient with a qualifying condition. The little one must be under the age of 18 years old. The parent or legal guardian must be the primary caregiver for the minor.

d) Non-Resident Card

The state of Utah acknowledges that medical marijuana users from other states may wish to access cannabis while visiting Utah. Furthermore, the state has established a system that allows out-of-state patients to obtain a non-resident card. To be eligible for a non-resident card, patients must have a valid medical marijuana card from their home state. The card is valid for 21 days and can be renewed only twice per year. Besides, the qualifying condition must be on the qualifying list of the state of Utah.

e) Provisional Patient Card

A minor patient with a qualifying condition receives a provisional card with the guardian card. When a patient is below 18 years old and prescribed medical marijuana, both parents and guardians of the minor must obtain medical marijuana cards. The provisional card expires on the 18th birthday of the patient or when the qualifying condition no longer exists. The Compassionate Use Board must approve the request for a  provisional patient card.

Requirements for Utah Medical Marijuana Card

a) Age and Residency

Utah has no age limit for patients with a medical marijuana card. However, they must be residents of the state of Utah. In addition, patients below the age of 18 years must have a guardian or parent register as their primary caregiver.

b) Qualifying Condition

Patients must have a qualifying condition to be eligible for a medical marijuana card in Utah. For minors, their application must approve by the Compassionate Use Board.

c) Medical Documentation

Patients must have a written recommendation from a licensed physician to be eligible for a medical marijuana card. In addition, the physician must certify that the patient has a qualifying condition.

Steps to Get a Utah Medical Marijuana Card

The process of getting a medical marijuana card in Utah is as follows:

  • Step One: Schedule an appointment with a licensed physician.
  • Step Two: Obtain a written recommendation from the physician.
  • Step Three: Apply to the Utah Department of Health.
  • Step Four: Pay the application fee.
  • Step Five: Receive your medical marijuana card in the mail.

Once you have a medical marijuana card, you can purchase cannabis from any licensed dispensary in Utah. The amount of cannabis you can buy and possess at any given time is limited to one ounce. However, patients with a higher THC limit may possess up to four ounces of cannabis if their physician recommends it.

Bottom Line

Cannabis is still illegal under federal law, meaning the transportation of cannabis is not allowed within state lines. Therefore, patients must purchase their cannabis from a dispensary in the state of Utah. Purchasing cannabis from a dispensary requires you to present your medical marijuana card. Dispensaries will also need you to present a valid government-issued ID.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top