What are the Eligibility Requirements to Get AWS Certified?

The Cloud computing industry has grown tremendously over the past few years. More and more companies are moving their workload onto the cloud. AWS offers robust cloud services, making it the cloud computing leader in the industry. It provides a plethora of certifications for different levels depending on the individual’s choice or job domain. An IT professional who undertakes AWS certification is perceived as a highly skilled, motivated, and hard-working individual by employers.

According to a report in 2018, more than 65% of enterprises use AWS to run their applications. With such high demand for cloud services, AWS is going to expand in the future at an exponential rate. As of now, AWS offers eleven certifications. However, there is no set learning path to these certifications. But we have enlisted eligibility criteria for a few certifications. These are divided into four levels- Fundamental, Associate, Professional, and Specialty. 

Foundation Certification- AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner

Only one foundational certification in AWS is perfect for an IT professional just starting out on the AWS cloud. To be eligible for this certification, a candidate must have basic IT knowledge and should know how to use it with AWS. Moreover, the experience of a minimum of six months in the AWS cloud is recommended.

Associate Certifications

There are three associate AWS certifications for which the eligibility criteria are given below: 

AWS Certified Solutions Architect

This certification validates your knowledge of designing applications on the AWS platform. The eligibility criteria for AWS solutions architect is a minimum of one year of experience in designing and implementing applications over AWS. Also, expertise in a high programming language is an added advantage.

AWS Certified Developer

An AWS certified developer quotes codes and develops and manages applications on the AWS cloud. To be eligible for this certification, you need to be proficient in AWS architecture and use the platform for developing and deploying applications. One year of experience in developing applications and knowledge of programming languages is also a must.

AWS Certified SysOps Administrator

This certification is exclusively offered to system administrators. You must have proficiency in the technical and operational side of AWS. Just like every associate credential, you need one year of experience and expertise in operating applications. Moreover, you should be able to offer guidance on an application lifecycle based on AWS.

Professional Certifications

There are two professional certifications- AWS certified solutions architect and AWS certified DevOps engineer.

AWS Certified Solutions Architect

A professional AWS architect is skilled to guide the requirements of AWS architecture for deploying applications. You must have two years of experience in AWS cloud architecture and proficiency in best practices for implementing AWS application’s architecture.

AWS Certified DevOps Engineer

This certification focuses on the fundamentals of DevOps for the automation of processes. You need two years of experience in an AWS cloud environment. Also, expertise in high-level programming language for developing code is a must. An understanding of automation and development processes such as Agile is needed.

Specialty Certifications

There are five specialty certifications in AWS, and you can go for one based on your niche: 

AWS Certified Big Data

This certification is for those who have a knack for data analytics. A candidate must have at least five years of experience in the data analytics field. The individual should be proficient in designing robust, cost-effective and scalable architecture.

AWS Certified Advanced Networking

It is best for a candidate with expertise in the AWS platform and the hybrid IT networking architecture for performing complex tasks. In addition, you need to have five years of work experience in the implementation and architecture of network solutions.

AWS Certified Security

This certification offers an advanced understanding of security services in the AWS platform. You must have at least five years of experience in the IT security industry and a minimum of 2 years of experience in AWS security workloads.

AWS Certified Alexa Skill Builder

This certification offers the necessary skills for creating, developing and testing Alexa. All you need to have is six months of experience in programming languages used for building Alexa applications.

AWS Certified Machine Learning 

This certification equips an individual with advanced machine learning solutions for various business situations. You need to have a background in data science. Minimum experience of one year in an AWS environment for developing machine learning is recommended.


There is no set pattern of approaching the AWS certifications. However, the above said criteria helps in getting better knowledge of the niche you choose to get certified in. With this article, you can now get the recommended experience and skills before AWS certifications.


Also Read:- A Complete Guide: How to Become an AWS Certified Developer


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top